top of page

The Olympians - Episode 4: Hephaestus

Hi, guys. This is Charles here (the co-founder of this website, friend of James). Today, we are going to talk about Hephaestus, my favorite greek god. So...let's start.


Hephaestus, or Vulcan in Roman form, is the god of fire and blacksmiths. He is the (100%) brother of Ares, since they both have the same parents, king and queen of the gods. When Hephaestus was born, he was ugly (Now he still is. But Lord Hephaestus, I still love your powers and personalities. I don't care about how you look!), so his mother threw him out of Mount Olympus. His fall was slowed down by Thetis the Nereid and Euryome the Oceanide. He was ugly, but they adopted him and raised him up on Island Lemnos. Then he returned to Olympus with gifts for his family on Olympus.


His wife is Aphrodite, goddess of love and beauty. Yes, she was his wife, but she secretly loved Ares. People always say that Love and War comes together. Well, Aphrodite represents love and Ares represents war. Although Hephaestus is under the shadows of his brother, parents, and wife, he still found his place on Mount Olympus.

People think all of the volcanic eruptions are either caused by Typhon that is trapped under Mount Edna or when Hephaestus is building stuff in his underground forge. He created Helios' sun chariot that carries him across the sky everyday, Ares' war chariot of blades, and Aphrodite's enchanted girdle. He also made Talos, who can turn into both a metal man and a metal bull.


Hephaestus represents fire, and my favorite element is fire, and I like Hephaestus's features, his forge, and his creations. He inspired me a lot. I used the idea of Talos to draw my own Magmaranium suit. I will explain what is that in later life. By the way, you won't understand what it is. I imagined it when I was procrastinating one day. Long story... Whatever, Hephaestus is my favorite god in all mythologies. He is the Lord of Fire. I pray for him to give me luck every time I am building something, like some lego stuff or a robot. Well, E5 will be Athena, goddess of wisdom and war (the better style, much better than Ares'). She is my sister's favorite goddess in Greek Mythology. Well, see you next time!



9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page